Earth Hour 2010: Observations

WWF Philippines reports that Earth Hour Philippines 2010 (March 27, 2010, 8:30-9:30PM) was a success.

On that day, before 8PM, someone was sending (or it could be more than one person) text messages to local radio stations in the FM band, asking if they are joining Earth Hour 2010. At one radio station, one of the three djs proposed turning off their computers and just talking from 8:30-9:30PM since they could not exactly sign off. They seem very excited about it but I don’t know if they pushed through with their plans since I have turned off my radio before 8:30PM. I have a radio on my cellphone but I didn’t use it.  I think that it would defeat the purpose since I would be charging my cellphone afterwards. Kinda like staying up until 3AM after Earth Hour.

Our family, like last year, turned off lights and electronics equipment (except for the refrigerator). We had dinner by candlelight after which my dad promptly went to bed. I went to our second floor balcony to see if the neighborhood was engulfed in darkness.

I am sad to report that our street wasn’t, nor were the nearby streets. Homes weren’t lit by candles or gas lamps, either. I did expect that the street lamps would not be turned off, though. Information dissemination about Earth Hour 2010 was not exactly lacking what with all the print and TV ads and companies supporting it. 

I’d like to think, however, that people do observe  Earth Hour by making small concessions. That they turn off what lights and equipment they could, leaving only the necessary ones on or plugged.  Here’s hoping that we continue making those small concessions everyday.

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

