Tuna Pasta (White Sauce)

Standard

I used to cut recipes from the dailies and keep food packages and labels with recipes in them.  I also have this notebook wherein I wrote other recipes I would like to try.  I would pick the ones which are relatively easy, whose ingredients are readily available in the supermarket or your neighborhood store/grocery and which use kitchen equipment we already have.

I got this Tuna Pasta recipe years ago from a print ad. It is supposedly a chef’s recipe. I can’t recall who was the chef. Over time, I have lost the original recipe. I would like to share this somewhat altered version, the one I have written in my recipe notebook. I like that it is super easy to cook this one.

Ingredients:
500 gram pack spaghetti noodles or elbow macaroni
2 180-gram cans Century tuna flakes in vegetable oil
1 200-gram can sliced button mushrooms, discard water
1 shrimp cube mashed to powder form
1 400 ml glass milk (3 Tbsp powdered milk dissolved in 1 glass water)
1 250 ml tetra brick all purpose cream
1 60 gram pack cream of mushroom (powder form) dissolved in 1 400 ml glass water
2 cloves garlic, sliced
half an onion, sliced
half medium-sized green bell pepper, chopped (optional)
half medium-sized red bell pepper, chopped (optional)

Directions:
1. Cook noodles/macaroni according to package directions. Set aside.
2. In large pan, a pot will also do, heat cooking oil. What I do is I use the oil from the Century Tuna. Once hot enough, saute onion and garlic until the onion’s rings have separated.
3. Add tuna flakes. Simmer for a minute then mix in mushrooms. Simmer for another minute. Mix in shrimp powder. Simmer for another minute.
4. Mix in dissolved cream of mushroom. Simmer for a minute. Add milk.  Simmer for another minute. Mix in cream. (Add bell peppers.) Simmer without lid for the sauce to slightly congeal. Remove from heat when slightly creamy consistency is reached. Sauce will further congeal once removed from flame.
5. Serve sauce over or mixed into pasta.

 I used medium heat throughout the cooking process. Adjust taste by altering the amount of water used to dissolve cream of mushroom and milk. No need to add salt. Feeds 6 people.

I entered this recipe in Century Tuna’s FB Contest months prior. Here’s the link. Do check out the other recipes at the facebook page of Century Tuna. Visit their website to know their products and for more recipes.

11 responses »

    • Hi Miru! I haven’t tried using Campbell’s.

      Hope other readers who’ve tried tweaking the recipe could help out with a comment. 🙂

  1. I tried to cook it, but my kids do’nt love it, they prefer to it macaroni salad, it’s salty version of macaroni salad actually…

    • Thanks for trying the recipe Ella. I did mention in the post to adjust to preferred taste (saltiness being a matter of taste) by controlling the amount of water though.

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

