Tropical Fruit Salad

My mom has a green thumb. She collects seeds of every fruits and veggies that lands in our kitchen (to be planted later) and would compost their peels and parts left which aren’t edible. She and my aunt are responsible for the mishmash of plants, trees and shrubs, that surround our house.

It’s during summer when I’m very much grateful for the trees and the shade and the all-you-can-eat fruit platter they provide.

Our grapefruit tree has given us fruit all year long. Unfortunately, except for my mom, we’re not really super fond of grapefruits. Don’t get angry Grapefruit tree! We still want you to produce more fruits.

I’m very fond of ripe mangoes. Usually, come March, the Indian mango tree in front of our house would already have lots of fruits. Earlier in January, we would be worrying that the strong winds would wipe out all the flowers, resulting in fewer fruits. Still, we’ve had bountiful harvests in the past. So much, that my siblings and I have, at one time or another, brought grocery bags upon grocery bags of Indian mango to school/work, for our classmates/teachers/workmates to feast upon or to houses of friends. We would hear thuds on our roof until June, made by fruits which we couldn’t reach that finally let go of the tree.

As of now, one could hardly see the yet-to-mature fruits of our avocado tree from the ground. I know that I shouldn’t be counting chickens before they hatch but I’m definitely looking forward to tall glasses of mashed avocados, milk, sugar and crushed ice in the next few months especially as I have found out that the fruits can easily be plucked from the tree from our second floor rooftop.

For as long as I could remember, we’ve always had guava trees. I like guava juice (any juice for that matter) but I’m not into eating the fruit as is. I’ve tasted them, sure and if I were to choose, I’d pick the ones with pink centers. I just don’t particularly like eating their seeds. What I really like is bath water made from boiling guava leaves in it. Takes me back to the time when mom would have us bathe in the stuff when we’re recovering from illness.

I once proposed that we should go into the banana business, using the plot in Santa Maria, Bulacan, as bananas seem low maintenance and they kept multiplying in our backyard and bear fruits all year round.

The first atis fruit for this year. Not a pretty sight as the peel has this white, moldy film in some areas. But once the atis tree in front of our house and outside our fence gets her groove, we have to battle it out with people who see the fruits on who gets to pick and eat them.

Not really a fruit but that picture I posted sometime back in twitter that looked like a chicken drumstick? It’s purple yam. We made it and its siblings into ube halaya.

We’ve had a lot of other fruit-bearing trees in the past. Like jackfruits and chicos. Heck we’ve even managed to grow an apple tree to about as tall as I am until it said good-bye. I guess it was unable to bear the hot temp.

Admittedly, I’m not really good with growing plants in their initial stages (potting, de-potting, planting). My first grade science activity growing monggo seedlings was a disaster. Their stalks were as skinny as my arms are. I’m relegated to watering duty though and years of being on this job has taught me that no, you cannot water plants using water previously used in doing the laundry and washing the dishes. Unless you want the plants hating you for killing them. Here’s why.

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

