Swirly Patterns on my Nails

Standard

The first time I tried water nail marbling, droplets of the nail polishes I used refused to float. They settled into the bottom of the bowl and I had to scrape them off. My second attempt had the nail polish spreading far across the surface of the water resulting in a super thin translucent film of nail polish covering my nails. On my third try, the nail polish floated yet refused to spread. They ended up as messy lumps on my nails.

Obviously there were things I was doing wrong. Like using nail polishes not suitable for this nail art. Not all nail polishes work as pointed out by Nikki Tiu of Askmewhats here and explained by Caronia, a leading local brand of nail polishes and nail care products, here. Caronia cited varying colorant content and viscosity as factors that affect how well a nail polish would deliver.

Speaking of viscosity, nail polishes with a thick consistency or have thickened over time wouldn’t work as much, as they wouldn’t spread well on the water. They’d likely end up as spots on the water which translates to thick goops on nails. A newly-opened bottle works best.

click to enlarge

The idea is to let drops of nail polish, alternating the colors, fall on the water in rapid succession and to create design as swiftly as one could before the nail polishes start clinging to the tool used for creating the design. That was another thing I was doing wrong. I was moving too slowly. I was opening and closing nail polish bottles when, as Rina Alcantara had demonstrated in her tutorial here, I should have had the caps of the nail polish bottles twisted open. I should also have let my nails rest a bit on the water to let the pattern stick instead of quickly removing my fingers.

What I like about this nail art. It’s suitable for non-ambidextrous persons like me. I often end up with better nail polish application on the nails on my left hand. With this nail art, I don’t have to draw the design with my shaking left hand on the nails on my right.

click to enlarge

Plus, one can create a whole lot of color combos and patterns. Just check out the pretty entries to the Caronia Nail Swirl Madness, an ongoing nail marbling contest on the brand’s fb page.  If any, they’re an indication that Caronia nail polishes are ideal for this type of nail art.

Which is why I’m quite pleased that Caronia picked me to win a Caronia Nail Swirl Kit in their FB contest here. (Thank you Caronia!)  The kit has all the tools necessary for nail marbling. Except for  mad skills and creativity which I have to come up with stat if I were to join the Caronia Nail Swirl Madness. Been practicing as I want to have real swell nail swirls to match the real swell prizes (Ipad, Iphone, DSLR, cash and lots of nail polishes) up for grabs.

Brazo de Mercedes-inspired

Got Caronia nail polishes? Think you can come up with an awesome nail swirl / water nail marble art in a week’s notice and get your fb friends to vote for it? Then click the link and join the Caronia Nail Swirl Madness. Check the pic above with the contest banner for mechanics.

Got Caronia nail polishes but not sure how nail swirling / water nail marbling works? You are in trouble! Kidding. Check the how to pic above or visit Rina Alcantara’s tutorial vid to know how.

3 responses »

    • Thanks for having these giveaways. Will join again!

      And no, you’re not (lazy). Your posts say you’re a very busy person.

  1. Pingback: Drugstore Nail Polish Removers: Cutex, Bobbie, Caronia and My Nails « Salmoncat's Entries

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

