Myra

Standard

Several years ago, while flipping through the pages of a magazine, I noticed a picture of Myra. She was buddies then with Isabel Oli, a talent of local network GMA7 who was the “IT” girl then.

I saw her in person, sometime after that, while walking through an aisle of a Mercury Drugstore. After getting to know her, I took a liking to her.  I decided we should go on a vacation together. She took care of me during that trip. But we lost contact afterwards.

I ran into her again and a friend of hers who works  as a sales assistant, during one of the three day sales at Watsons, SM MOA. Her friend reintroduced us. I told her friend that I already knew Myra and that I like that she has these yellow beads. She gave me some literature about her nonetheless.

I met a new Myra few months later. She had a new gray cap on. I took her home then.  I’ve been having an on and off relationship with her even after years later, Isabel Oli left her for Moringa. But I’m glad Myra made pals with a few other celebrities, like Angel Locsin and Paula Taylor.

From just a moisturizer and hand and a body lotion about six plus years ago, Unilab’s Myra now has given birth to a slew of skincare products. For the face there’s Vitawhite, Sunprotect and two shades of Vitaglow. Lotions included: Vitafirm, Vitaquench and the latest Vitawhite. There are even two shades of Face Powder, two flavors of Lip Balm and Vitamins.

I got to welcome some members of the family, after winning in one of Myra’s contest on her facebook page. Thanks Myra.

What’s swell about Myra lotions and moisturizers is that they’re available in sachets which is good news to mobile people, people who want to try the product first before getting the big containers and people who can’t afford the full size ones at the moment. The lotions stand out for the tiny squishable yellow beads mixed into them.

The third Myra product to be introduced to the market, Myra Vitawhite Whitening Face Lotion, is the one with the gray cap I was talking about earlier. What I like about it in particular is that it’s quite affordable given that it offers sun protection, whitening and moisturization. Cuts face prep time, saves vanity space and money since I don’t need to get different products.

I remember it having a tube of a different design years ago.  Though, I recall it being sticky and that it used to leave a white cast on my face. I don’t know if it has a different formulation back then.

But these are Myra Vitawhite Whitening Face Lotion’s ingredients now: water, octinoxate, zinc oxide, polyacrylamide, C13-14 isoparaffin, laureth-7, glycerin, talc, aluminum starch octenylsuccinate, cyclomethicone, steareth-21, malva sylvestris extract, mentha piperita leaf extract, primula veris extract, alchemilla vulgaris extract, veronica officinalis extract, melissa officinalis leaf extract, achillea millefolium extract, panthenol, tocopheryl acetate, DMDM hydantoin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, fragrance, disodium EDTA, gluconolactone

Label indicates that Myra Vitawhite Whitening Face Lotion has Actilight Complex derived from plant extracts to help lighten skin, double sunscreen (for) protection against UVA and UVB rays, SPF 15 for 15 times longer protection from the harmful effects of the sun (and is) enriched with Vitamin E and moisturizers. It is dermatologist-tested, mild, gentle and safe for everyday use.

The new Myra Vitawhite Whitening Face Lotion is less sticky than the first. It does not leave a pronounced white cast, should not be noticeable if you powder your face afterwards. Sans powder, my face felt velvety to my touch. Since it has just SPF 15, I use this when it’s not sunny outside and/or I’m mostly staying indoors. It’s scent has not changed since it first came out, 2008 I think.

A 50ml tube of Myra Vitawhite Whitening Face Lotion is P104.75 at Watsons. I have finished the products in first picture above hence I got the tube in second photo last month. It was only P50 plus as 50% was slashed from the price of selected Myra products when I hit Watsons then. Drop by Myra’s facebook page here and their twitter account here.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Myra Vitawhite Whitening Hand and Body Lotion « Salmoncat's Entries

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

