Making the Most of Godiva Licowhite Lotion with SPF15

Standard

godivalicorice1

Let me say straight away that Godiva Licowhite Lotion with SPF 15 is  a disappointment. It is almost everything that I didn’t want in sunblocks, sunscreens and lotions with spf  which came out 5 years ago, if it weren’t for the fact that I didn’t want my skin damaged by the sun even more.

I was in hurry the first time I used it. Slapped it on then headed out the door. Ditched the “apply 30 minutes before going out to allow skin to absorb it” rule which I have always interpreted as it takes 30 minutes for the lotion to activate. Since I wore sandals, the exposed part of my feet became a couple of shades darker at the end of the day.  Not because the spf and active ingredient didn’t work but because of dust.  It was that sticky. The stickiness does wear off but it takes time.

It is not easily absorbed by the skin and leaves a white cast/film. I know. I know. The 30 minute rule. Rubbing helps to get the white stuff in. As in vigorous rubbing. And even after it’s been worked through, the sticky feeling remains. Best to not apply this while skin is damp too. Had a harder time working it into my skin then. Somehow, water seems to repel it.

Image100

I’m not a big fan of  the scent which IMHO leans more towards masculine. This is in spite of the bottle having a pink label. The scent manages to outlast some of the fragrances I wear. I can still smell it on my skin at the end of the day.

This is the lotion’s consistency.

godivalotion1

Small, soft granules are already forming even as the date stamp says expiration is a year plus from now.

Also on the label: Whitens as it evens out discoloration. Helps even out skin discolorations caused by age, scar and pregnancy. Provides sun protection as it moisturizes with emollients that keep skin soft and smooth. Contains glabridin, a powerful skin whitening ingredient from Licorice extract. Effective and gentle. Safe even for long term use. Paraben free.

Its ingredients include: water, zinc oxide, octyl methoxycinnamate, lanolin alcohol, glycerin, glyceryl monostearate, mineral oil, propylene, glycol, cetyl alcohol, stearic acid, triethanolamine, chlorphenesin, methylisothiazolone, carbomer, imadazolidinyl urea, fragrance, dimethicone, aquaxome, butylated hydroxytoluene, sodium citrate, glabridin (licorice extract).

I guess I should not have regarded the product as a sunblock or sunscreen but as a whitening lotion.  I’ll probably use this when I’m stuck at home where there’s limited exposure to dust. Definitely not using it when I need to step outside. Sigh.

So how did I end up having the Godiva Licowhite Lotion with SPF 15  in my hands in the first place? Had a recent out of town trip and was unable to pack a lotion that would provide me at least nominal sun protection.  Went in search of a store which sells one. This was the only lotion with spf available. Forgot how much it went for but it can’t be more than P150 for a 100ml bottle. Funny that local stores stock up on whitening lotions and not on lotions that offer sun protection. Welcome to the tropics people!

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

