Watsons Extra Shine Treatment Shampoo

Standard

watsons extra shine treatment shampoo, watsons shampoo, watsons treatment shampoo, watsons shampoo for dull hair, watsons treatment shampoo for dull hair, watsons treatment shampoo for colored hair, watsons shampoo for colored hair, shampoo for dry hair, shampoo, shampoo for colored hair, shampoo with ginsing, shampoo with henna

We finally finished our bottles of Watson Extra Shine Treatment Shampoo for coloured or dull hair.  Bath products tend to last for quite some time in the household since we tend to use them alternately, depending on our current needs.  And we have a tendency to hoard too. This year, I haven’t had my hair rebonded or permed. No salon treatments. The only thing my hair has been subjected to was DIY semi-permanent hair color. As such, I decided to get a drugstore shampoo meant for coloured hair.

Label: Enjoy a salon treatment for your hair at home! Watsons Henna Treatment Shampoo is formulated with henna extract. It cleanses your hair whilst locking in colour and helps prevent fading. Enriched with ginseng extract, it leaves your hair healthier and more manageable. For best results, use with Watsons Henna Treatment Wax. Made in Thailand.

To be honest, I felt the blurb is pushing it with the “salon treatment for your hair at home.” I haven’t had a henna treatment in a salon but I have been able use one of those DIY hair treatments in a jar formulated with henna.  With the Watsons Extra Shine Treatment Shampoo, I do get shiny hair but not as sleek shiny as when I use those hair treatments. Furthermore, I just found out  from this post by Filipina Makeup and Beauty that the blurbs for the shampoo and the treatment wax are the same save for the “cleanses your hair” part.

I don’t think it is able to make the color vibrant but I think the color is much more noticeable when light hits it, than when I use other shampoos not for coloured hair.  I don’t think it has any effect on how long the color lasts on my hair.

I think it is better than the Lavender Scented Watson Cream Shampoo in terms of taming the frizz. Used without conditioner, when I step out and my hair goes up in static, I can just run my fingers through my hair and get them to settle down. Though, I still have those few wayward strands that refuse to settle with rest. Yes, this shampoo gives me manageable hair but unfortunately, also dandruff. Small flyaway specks, not those that seem like your scalp is flaking.

Ingredients:  aqua, sodium laureth sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium chloride, cocamide MEA, glycol distearate, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, parfum, disodium EDTA, amodimethicone, laureth-10, citric acid, magnesium nitrate, propylene glycol, cetrimonium chloride, trideceth-12, methylchloroisothiazolinone sorbitol, magnesium chloride, sodium benzoate, lawsonia inermis (henna) extract, panax ginseng root extract, methylisothiazolinone, butylphenyl methylpropional, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, isobutylparaben, butylparaben, hydroxyisohexyl 3-cyclohexene carboxaldehyde, hexyl cinnamal, linalool, cl 17200 (red 33), cl 14700 (red 4)

Compared to the Lavender Scented Watsons Cream Shampoo, this one has  a slew of ingredients. Much like other mainstream shampoo brands currently in the market. More than half of the ingredients listed in in the label are similar to those in other Watsons Treatment Shampoo variants. Indian Makeup and Beauty Blog has this pic of the ingredients of the one with beer.  I need a full pump of it to suds up my thick shoulder length hair. It also has a not so long lasting not so girly floral scent.

Watsons Extra Shine Treatment Shampoo is available at Watsons stores at P199.75 for a 400ml bottle. We got ours when they were BOGO.  Bottle’s label now has a different design. I am unsure if the formulation has changed as well.

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

