Daiso Sake Lotion, erm, Toner

Standard

saizensakelotion

The thing is I am not sure what exactly to call this skincare product since the label is written in Japanese and I have trouble with kanji. It’s something that I got from Daiso Japan Philippines, previously Saizen, Japan’s Daiso’s official presence here in the Philippines. Not to be confused with Daiso (Japan Home Centre). I was looking for a toner and thought this was one since it sat on the shelf with other facial skincare products. It was hard to tell since as I have said, kanji and there were no labels on the shelf. Also, it was sealed in plastic so I couldn’t twist open the cap for a look-see. It was liquid enough when I shook it though.

It does say D SK Lotion and compounded with sake (moisture retention formula) at the back of the bottle. So does D SK Lotion stand for Daiso Sake Lotion? ‘Coz if there are no opposers, that’s what I’m pegging this to be. A facial lotion that’s more toner than moisturizer as the ingredients are also some of what could be found in more common toners.

Ingredients: water, alcohol, glycerin, butylene glycol, rice ferment filtrate (sake), peg-40 hydrogenated castor oil, sodium citrate, metylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance

I have no idea what sake smells like but my sister thinks the lotion smells like beer. I’m not quite sure. I’m not very fond of beer. But I am intrigued by the idea of sake in skincare products. Weird and Japanese stuff works for me. Okay, so it’s made in Vietnam as stated in the label but still, sake is of Japan origin.

Instructions: After washing the face, take a proper quantity of the product and spread it on the skin thinly.

Like using toner, I would get a few drops of  this lotion in a cotton ball and swipe it all over my face. Daiso Sake Lotion looks like water and feels like water on my skin. No cringing happens when I pass it over a pimple. No sting. No cool feels even if it’s supposed to contain alcohol. It didn’t so far broke me out. I think it compliments the skincare products I’m currently using as I now experience break outs only during that time of the month.

It does remove dirt and  whatever gunk is left on my face which my cleanser is unable to get rid of. Proof of this would be the cotton ball which at times, not all, would end up dirty. It’s non-drying that I don’t feel my skin being pulled tight when I use this.  That said, I don’t think it’s able to shrink my pores even for a while nor keep my skin from becoming oily.

The 200 ml Daiso Sake Lotion costs P88. For  more on Daiso Japan Philippines and their quirky products, visit their new facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/DaisoJapanPH

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

