This is not a Review of X-Men Days of Future Past

Standard

xmendaysoffuturepast

Thanks to Philippine Star, me and my sister were able to catch the latest installment of  the  X-Men franchise on its opening day, at the SM Aura.  It was our first time watch in one of this relatively new mall’s cinemas as it’s quite far from our usual lurking spots. I have to say that I like the way the rows are spaced,  it discourages people from placing their feet on seat in front of them least they knock somebody on the head. My sister liked the crowd at the screening, generally reactive but mindful of other moviegoers. This is the second time that we got to watch a special screening of an X-Men movie, the first time was 14 years ago, sponsored by another news outfit.

I am going to leave reviewing the film to more capable people  as my mind is rather preoccupied these days and I have limited knowledge of the X-Men aside from recollections from cartoons and playing cards. Gonna just drop in a couple of thoughts. So in case I slip, I’m calling spoilers ahead after the break.

  • While Mystique can copy another person’s appearance, if memory serves me right, I don’t think she can duplicate a mutant’s powers. That’s Rogue’s department. But then she and her powers were already the subject of the first X-Men movie.
  • A mutant saves the president but wasn’t it also a mutant who instigated the attack? So doesn’t that just equalizes things?
  • Those scenes with the sentinels are the stuff of my nightmares. Running madly but knowing there’s no escape, fighting knowing you could not win. The marching/tick-tocking score only adds to the sense of doom.
  • The much mentioned scene with Quicksilver reminds of another scene involving Hammy the Squirrel in the animated movie “Over the Hedge.”

Speaking of animated movies, here’s one that I’m looking forward to this coming month.

toothless1

Big Toothless fan as I can see in him my darling cat. Forget for a moment that Toothless bears resemblance to Stitch of Lilo and Stitch. A trailer for How to Train Your Dragon 2 was shown before the screening of Days of Future Past but there was nothing much in it to tell what the movie’s going to be about. Seen the other trailer on youtube. That one at least pointed out what the story is going to be. Still worried that it’s not going to be as good as the first.

But for now, I’m just glad that Days of Future Past, overall, did not suck.

 

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.

