A Month of Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser

Several weeks ago, Cetaphil announced on their FB page that they were giving away 60ml bottles of their Gentle Skin Cleanser to people who’d register through an app, also on their FB page. So of course, me and my sister signed up.

Image

The bottles arrived at our house, each in a plastic pouch with cotton balls and a pamphlet. [Thank you Cetaphil Philippines.] The pamphlet talks about caring for a baby’s skin, why Cetaphil products are ideal for it.

Image
click to enlarge

I like that they cited studies to back up their claims.

Image
click to enlarge

This shouldn’t mean that the Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser is only for babies and newborns. It is one of the cleansers recommended by my sister-in-law’s doctor for her sensitive skin. The print on the bottle does states that:

This gentle, soap-free cleanser was originally formulated for dermatologists, specifically for everyday cleansing of even the most sensitive skin.

– Soothing, non-irritating cleanser ideal for face, hands and body.
– Helps skin retain needed moisture.
– Rinses easily and leaves skin feeling soft, smooth and healthy.
– Mild enough to cleanse a baby’s delicate skin.

I have been using the Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser on my face twice daily, except when I go on my once-a-week exfoliation routine, for a month now. Odorless, slightly cloudy and just a bit liquid soap thick. It does not foam. Skin doesn’t feel taut after I take it off. Feels like I’ve applied moisturizer after a few minutes left alone. I still use a moisturizer afterwards since for me, it’s still a cleanser, not really a moisturizer. Didn’t experience a flare up but I still had whiteheads and the occasional breakouts and flaking. It’s the only product I’ve incorporated in my routine so I think that if there would be changes in my skin condition, it would be the cause. I do wonder since it’s gentle enough for babies if it’s able to thoroughly clean my face.

It sure has ingredients less than the fingers on my hands.

Ingredients: water, cetyl alcohol, propylene glycol, sodium lauryl sulfate, stearyl alcohol, methylparaben, propylparaben, butylparaben.

Now what about the cotton balls which came with the bottles? Well, according to the label, Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser can be used without water.

– Directions for use without water: Apply a liberal amount of cleanser to the skin and rub gently. Remove excess with a soft cloth, leaving a thin film on the skin.
– Directions for use with water: Apply cleanser to the skin and rub gently. Rinse.

I’ve tried the no water approach for a week, treating the cleanser like a cleansing lotion and using the cotton balls in place of cloth. Even if there doesn’t seem to be any difference between the two methods of cleansing in terms of how my skin felt and reacted after, I think I’ll stick to using the cleanser with water as I’m more comfortable with this. Although I could think of instances wherein a cleanser which would not require water would be helpful: for sick people who can’t take baths and when traveling and water is inaccessible.

Cetaphil products are quite pricey. It’s good that there’s the 60ml bottle which consumers can purchase first to see if it’s the ideal cleanser for their skin.

Available at Watsons and Mercury Drug branches. For more information about locally available Cetaphil products, head to the Cetaphil Facebook page here.

Thank you for reading. Your questions, reactions, thoughts are most appreciated.